PWAC Quebec’s New President

Julie BarlowHello PWAC Quebec Members!

I am writing to introduce myself as the new president of the Quebec Chapter of PWAC. Elizabeth Johnston had to step down after valiantly steering the Quebec chapter through the rough waters of the last years (for the national organization). I’ll be replacing Elizabeth for the rest of the 2016-17 year and I’d like to thank her for her hard work and wish her success in her writing.

Many of you already know me. I’ve been a member of PWAC Quebec for over 20 years, and a freelance writer for a few months longer than that. I just stepped down from PWAC’s national board where I helped PWAC through the transition to a member-run organization. I’m happy to say, the national organization is in good hands now, running smoothly and growing again.

If you are interested in me you can see more here. I have written five nonfiction books, ghost-written a few others, published a couple of hundred magazine and newspaper articles in French and in English, in Canada, the US and Europe, and have been a regular contributor to the Quebec public affairs magazine L’actualité since 1996.

My writing career has had many twists and turns, but PWAC has been one of the few “constants” (my husband, fellow freelancer Jean-Benoît Nadeau, has been the other). Two decades of freelance writing has taught me, over and over, how important it is to be in touch with other writers and share tips, ideas and experiences.

That’s what makes our local chapter such an important resource.

Montreal writers, as we know, face special challenges. In some ways, we already have a “niche” chosen for us, just be being English language writers in a francophone media world. That niche comes with obstacles, but also opportunities, and I think it’s easier to tackle them together than separately.

With that in mind, I’d like to get down to organizing some professional development events on networking, self-promotion, running a freelance business, managing work-life balance, refining social media skills, finding new clients and other skills of the freelance writing trade — like writing! To do that, though, I need help…

I’d love to hear what Quebec members want, but also what you have to offer. In particular, are you interested in joining the local executive (which consists of me, at the moment)? We should have a Treasurer, Secretary, Vice President, Membership Coordinator, Events Coordinator, and Communications Coordinator. If we share the workload, it won’t be too onerous. If you’d like to fill one of these positions, please let me know ASAP. The position of Quebec Regional Director is also open now.

So please, send me a line and let me know your thoughts. I wish you a happy and productive week and look forward to hearing from you, by Tweet, FB or plain old email (pwacquebec@gmail.com).

All the best,

Julie Barlow

Leave a Reply

